fruitpole
Response? Brandt, what is this, really?
What is the Dreaded Rear Admiral?
Message by James Cherry

Summary: Finally, what a rear admiral really is.
OK, so everyone was asking what the hell a rear admiral was. It was first mentioned in 1F04, last year's Halloween special.

BART: Milhouse...Milhouse, wake up, quick! Look out the window.
MILHOUSE: No way, Bart. If I lean over, I leave myself open to wedgies, wet willies, or even the dreaded rear-admiral!
Covering his ass, so to speak, "Treehouse of Horror IV"

Bill Oakley, who wrote that part of the script with Josh Weinstein, emailed me the definitive answer as to what a rear admiral is.

Regarding "Rear Admiral," I think the answer is probably as disappointing as you feared it might be: it doesn't exist. Here is the actual first draft script excerpt from the Halloween show:

BART: Milhouse. Milhouse, wake up. Quick, look out the window.
MILHOUSE: No way, Bart. If I lean over and put my face against the window, you're gonna smash it, or maybe pinch my butt real hard.

This was the first draft. In re-writing it, the writers wanted to go for something a little funnier, something that would sound like it was from the family of "flying wedgie," "purple nurple," etc. Someone, I do not remember who, said "Rear Admiral." It sounds real, having the word "rear" in it, but it was manufactured to sound real. As far as we
know, it doesn't really exist.

post comment

 
paulbuck, Tuesday, March 30, 2004, 17:08
Does this have anything to do with anything?
What the hell is this post about? And why is it directed at Brandt? Well, I guess I would go to him as well for anything concerning something called the Rear Admiral.

link

 
maneim zohye, Friday, April 02, 2004, 11:09
rear admiral
I met a Rear Admiral the other day. Very official. I chuckled. He knew why.

link

 
velvetesticles, Thursday, April 08, 2004, 16:41
Navy
In the navy there is rank call The Lower Half of the Rear Admiral. No, really.

link

Online for 7421 days
Last update: Sun Feb 18, 09:46
status
You're not logged in ... login
menu
search

calendar
March 2004
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
 
 1 
 2 
 3 
 4 
 5 
 6 
 7 
 8 
 9 
10
11
13
14
16
17
18
20
21
22
24
25
26
27
28
29
31
 
 
 
 
recent updates
Questions for Condi Rice...
Peter Bergen, a fellow of the New America Foundation,...
by paulbuck (Tue Apr 4, 17:33)
Another Presidential...
WASHINGTON - President Bush offered up a new entry...
by jarrett (Tue Apr 4, 17:27)
Hello there. I find it...
Hello there. I find it quite amusing that when you...
by homeslice (Tue Apr 4, 17:26)
some weekend highlights...
some weekend highlights...
by garreth (Tue Apr 4, 17:25)
Wisdom from David Byrne,...
Here are some clever lyrics that I have been reminded...
by paulbuck (Tue Nov 9, 23:15)

xml version of this page

made with antville